Dale 2 Spellcasting Problems FAQ
This is a FAQ
based on the information in the Hero Can't Cast Spells thread, the Casting Spells FAQ, and on my own personal
experience. Comments are appreciated, as I would like to make the
guide as easy-to-use as possible.
Credit is due to a number of board posters, I'm just the collector
Now, to the FAQ:
Q: My Character
can't cast spells! Why not?
The first thing to check is the caster's primary casting attribute.
As mentioned in the in-game help, you must have a minimum of score
of 10 + spell level to cast a spell.
Quick reference guide:
primary spellcasting attribute is INT.
and Sorcerors' primary
spellcasting attribute is CHA.
Cleric, Paladin, and Rangers' primary spellcasting
attribute is WIS.
classes ( Fighter, Barbarian, Monk, Rogue ) have no spellcasting
ability within the class.
with 15 INT and 10 CHA can cast (at most) 5th level Wizard spells,
assuming he's a high enough level to know a spell of that level.
with 15 INT and 10 CHA can't cast any spells, because
his charisma is too low ( sorcerors use CHA to cast spells ).
Bard/Cleric with 16 WIS and 14 CHA would be able to cast (at most)
6th level Cleric spells, and 4th level Bard spells.
Q: Some of
that made sense. What do you mean by 'high enough level to know a
spell of that level'?
A: As your character gains
levels, he may (based on class) gain the ability cast new and different
spells. For Wizards, Clerics, and Druids, the math is pretty simple.
The highest level of spells you can know is your half of your class
level (round up). For other classes, you will need to consult the
in-game help - the manual isn't entirely accurate on the spell progression
8 can know up to 4th level spells ( 8/2 = 4 ), assuming he has
an INT of at least 14 ( 10 + 4 ).
A Druid 17
can know up to 9th level spells (17 / 2 = 8.5, round up to 9 ),
assuming that he has at least a 19 WIS.
5 / Wizard 3 can know up to 3rd level Cleric spells (5/2 = 2.5
round up to 3 ), and up to 2nd level Wizard spells ( 3/2 = 1.5
round up to 2 ). Of course, he would have to have at least 13
WIS and 12 INT to cast spells of those levels.
since there aren't any spells higher than 9th level in IWD2, having
a 20 in your spellcasting attribute doesn't give you access to 10th
level spells :)
Q: Wait a minute! My wizard can only have
an 18 in INT! Does this mean he'll never be able to cast the 9th level
A: On every level evenly divisible
by four, your character will get a new attribute point. You can put
that point into your spellcasting attribute, so that by the time you
reach 9th level spells, you'll be able to cast spells of that level.
As an example, I might create a Wizard with 16 INT. At fourth level,
I'll raise his INT to 17. At eighth level, I'll raise his INT to 18.
At 12th level, I'll raise his INT another point to 19. So, when he
gets to 17th level ( and can learn 9th level spells ), he'll already
have the INT required to cast them.
Q: Why can't I scribe these scrolls?
A: Different classes know spells
of each level in different ways. Understanding these ways is important,
as your choices can significantly impact your character later in the
starts the game with only a couple of spells known, and you get
to pick those spells during character creation. As the game progresses,
you will find additional Wizard scrolls, and the Wizard can (attempt
to) scribe them into his spellbook. Wizard tend to end up with
the largest selection of spells to choose from, as they continue
to add scrolls to their book through the game.
and Sorceror get to choose new
spells for their spellbooks at level up, based on a fixed progression
( see manual for details ). They cannot scribe new scrolls into
their spellbooks -- they must choose their spells
at level-up only. As a result, they tend to have a lot fewer choices
of spells in their spellbooks than the Wizard. However, they have
the advantage of not having to find (or buy) new scrolls as their
levels advance. Note that this means your spell selection is very
important at level-ups: these characters can't go back and change
that selection out later!
( Clerics, Druids, Rangers, Paladins ) are automatically granted
access to any spell selections available for their class. (There
is an additional point about Domain
Spells for clerics, but that will be covered much later
in this FAQ ). As a result, every first level druid has the same
access to the exact same druid spell list, for example.
Q: In BG2
I was limited in how many spells I could learn based on my INT. Is
this true in IWD2?
A: No. How many spells you
can have in your spellbook is not influenced by any attribute your
character may have.
I just checked my character, and he can't cast spells because his
spellcasting attribute is too low. What do I do?
A: For "pure" spellcasters
( Wizards, Sorcerors, Clerics, and Druids ) this is a very difficult
situation. For the other spellcasting classes, you can frequently
use some magical items ( for example, a magical ring might give a
+1 to WIS ) to give your attribute a little "boost" until you can
reach another level divisbile by four (so you can put an attribute
point in your spellcasting attribute ).
For example, I might start a Paladin with WIS 10. At fourth level
(when he gains his first first-level spell), I would put the bonus
attribute point into WIS (making it 11), or optionally I might use
a magical item instead that would raise his WIS to at least 11.
Q: OK, I've
checked my spellcasting attribute, and it's high enough that I should
be able to cast spells. I still can't cast them, though... what's
A: For anybody but Sorcerors and Bards, you may need to memorize
the spells you want to cast. You get a certain number of spell castings
per resting period, and you much choose the spells you want to be
able to cast after your next rest.
For example, my Wizard may have three first-level spells in his spell
book: Identify, Magic Missle, and Mage Armor. However, he has
two castings of first level spells per day. So, he has to choose and
decides to use one spell slot for Mage Armor and one slot for
Magic Missle. After resting,
he will be able to cast each one of those two spells once, and then
will not be able to cast spells until he rests again (possibly after
changing what spells he wants to use the next day).
To get to your spell-book, so that you can pick out spells, you can
use the S (think 'S'pellbook) key on
your keyboard while in the game, or click on the scroll icon inside
the oval on the user interface. The right side is the spells that
are in your spellbook (ones you 'know'), and the left side is the
spells you have currently memorized.
Q: Hey! My Sorceror knows two first level
spells ( Magic Missle and Mage Armor ), and when he cast a Magic Missle
his number of remaining castings of BOTH Magic Missle and Mage
Armor went down by one! What happened?
A: Sorcerors and Bards both
have flexible casting: they get a certain number of castings per day
at each level. For example, your Sorceror as listed above may have
5 castings after resting. He can cast 5 Magic
Missles, 5 Mage Armors,
2 Magic Missles and 3 Mage
Armors, or any other combination... as long as the total number
of castings doesn't exceed 5.
This gives the Sorceror and Bard more flexibility than the Wizard
at "crunch time", since they can pick any spell that they know to
cast on the fly (up to the maximum number of castings per day), while
the Wizard has to choose exactly which spells he is going to cast
before resting the night before. However, since both Bards and Sorcerors
get far fewer spells in their spellbooks than Wizards (potentially,
since Wizards can scribe scrolls), things may even out in the end.
Q: Hey! My
Ranger (or Paladin) just reached 4th level. He has a high enough spellcasting
attribute (WIS 11), and I selected a spell, and then rested. However,
he doesn't have a spellcasting icon on the toolbar, so I can't cast
his spell! What gives?
A: The action bar (or toolbar)
is now customizeable inside IWD2, unlike previous games made with
the IE ( like Baldur's Gate ). Since your character didn't start with
a spellcasting icon on the action bar, you'll need to change one of
the buttons on the action bar to be the spellcasting icon.
Note that the left-most three buttons on the action bar are not customizeable:
the rest of them are, and you can feel free to change them to your
but HOW do I change the action
bar to add a spellcasting icon?
A: The basic idea is that left-clicking a button on the
action bar does the action associated with it. If you right-click a button, then
it pulls up a list of things you can reassign the button to be.
You can left-click on the spellcasting icon (if that's what you want
to assign) from this list, or continue right-clicking the icons in
the action bar until you find the button you want to place on the
Note that this is a handy feature, and makes sense after you play
with it. For example, IIRC I've customized the nine spots on my Cleric's
toolbar to be the following:
(innate Aasimar ability)
Renewal ( Lathandar ability )
Use Icon (backpack)
Menu ( cross )
Q: Hey, that
reminds me. What's the deal with the Domain spells?
A: Each of the nice Cleric
dieties ( domains ) give their clerics an extra spell at each casting
level. This extra spell must come from one of only two
that the diety provides. So, a first-level cleric might have 2 'normal'
cleric spells from the regular spell list, and one 'domain' spell
from his domain list (which only gives two choices). Other than that,
it works pretty much like any other regular spellcaster.
Q: What's this Spontaneous Conversion, and
how do I do it?
A: Good-aligned and Neutral-aligned
clerics can change out a cleric spell for a Cure
* Wounds of the same level. For example, my cleric may decide
in the middle of combat to convert his Bless spell to a Cure Light Wounds spell, since
the fighter has just taken a beating.
To convert a spell, you SHIFT-left-click the spell when you cast it,
instead of just left-clicking the spell. So, in my example, I would
hold down the SHIFT key and then click on the Bless spell inside my spellcasting
icon. A text message should appear in your status box to inform you
you've just converted the spell, and then you target the recipient
of the Cure * Wounds spell to complete
the task, and start casting on the target.
Note that evil clerics can spontaneously convert thier spells to Cause
* Wounds spells of the same level, not Cure * Wounds spells.
Q: Hey! I tried to convert my domain spell
and cure a character, but it didn't convert! How do I convert domain
A: The short answer: you don't.
Clerics can only spontaneously
convert spells from their Cleric spell list. Domain spells and other
spellcasting lists ( for multiclassed clerics ) cannot be converted.
Q: I tried
to convert my sixth-level cleric spell to Heal, but it didn't work.
A: Spells can only be converted
to Cure * Wounds or Cause
* Wounds spells. If you want to have a Heal spell, you'll have to
memorize it and rest.
I get casting failure. What's wrong?
A: Many types of armor and
shields give a penalty to spellcasting ( in a percentage form ). If
you're using an item that may cause spellcasting failure, and try
to cast an arcane spell ( Wizard, Bard, Sorceror ), you may 'fizzle'
the spell because you're wearing armor or using a shield.
The simple solution, obviously, is not to wear the armor or shield
while casting. Another solution is that the Armored Arcana feat reduces
the spellcasting penalty slightly, so you might be able (for example)
to have your Wizard cast armor without penalty in Studded Leather
with 3 ranks of Armored Arcana.
Q: I can't
scribe Enchantment spell to my Necromancer, although manual says I
should be able to do so! What's wrong?
A: The manual is wrong. The
correct list of opposition schools is as follows:
School - Banned school(s)
Abjurer - Transmutation and Illusion
Conjurer - Evocation
Diviner - Conjuration
Enchanter - Evocation
Evoker - Divination and Conjuration
Illusionist - Necromancy and Abjuration
Necromancer - Illusion and Enchantment
Transmuter - Necromancy and Abjuration
Q: I multiclassed my rock gnome to a rogue(1)/illusionist(1),
but i don't get any known spells in my spellbook. My int is 16. What's
A: Unlike 3rd Edition D&D,
wizards don't get "free spells" to scribe into their spell books when
they reach a new spell level. As a result, when you gain a new level
of spells, you have to scribe them into your spell book after purchasing
or finding them.
Q: Ummm.... 'scribe'? How do I do that?
A: As you go through the game,
you will find scrolls of various kinds, both as treasure and as items
you may purchase. Your wizard (or specialty wizard, like an Illusionist)
may be able to "learn" some of these spells, but transferring the
spell to his spell book. Once that has happened, the spell is avaialble
for your wizard to choose before resting.
The process to add a spell to your spell book is relatively simple.
You right click on the spell in your inventory, and then click on
Scribe Scroll at the bottom
of the detail screen. The scroll will disappear, and the spell will
appear in your spellbook.
Q: Uh, I
can't select "Scribe Scroll", it's grayed out when I right click on
the scroll. What's wrong?
A: There are a number of things
you need to check. First of all, only Wizards and specialist Wizards
can scribe scrolls. So, forget about your Sorceror adding new
scrolls to his spell book.
Secondly, the spell must be a spell that your Wizard can learn. You
can read the spell description to determine if the spell is available
to Wizards and Sorcerors. For example, Cure Light Wounds is a spell
not available to Wizards, so they cannot scribe the spell to their
Thirdly, if you have a specialist Wizard ( like a Conjuror, for example
), you will not be able to scribe scrolls for the schools that are
forbidden to your specialty. For example, a Conjuror cannot cast Evocation spells, so he will
never be able to scribe spells like Magic Missle or Fireball, both of which are
Q: I chose
Identify as one of my initial spells. It shows up in my spellbook
list, but not in my list of castable spells. What gives?
A: Identify doesn't get cast
like normal spells, and doesn't appear under the casting icon. When
you right click on an unidentified item in your bard's there's an
identify butten, and when you click that you can choose to use a spell
to identify it.
Q: My Wizard
can't select spells of level '2', even though he meets all the requirements.
I know I haven't done anything wrong, because he can even cast level
3 spells! Help!
A:There is a known bug in IWD2
that shows up if you learn more than 24 spells of a given level. The
short-term fix is: Don't scribe more than 24 spells of
a given level. No long-term fix has yet been promised (in form
of a patch).
(Buying via our links helps support the site -- thank you!)
Place is a project run entirely by fans and for fans. Maintaining
Sorcerer's Place and a stable environment for all our hosted sites requires a substantial amount of our time and funds on a regular basis, so please consider supporting us to keep the site up & running smoothly. Thank you!
Supporting Sorcerer's Place
Has Sorcerer's Place been useful? If you'd like to show your appreciation
for our hard work on the site, and help us pay the bills the site generates
every month, please consider helping support SP.