1. SPS Accounts:
    Do you find yourself coming back time after time? Do you appreciate the ongoing hard work to keep this community focused and successful in its mission? Please consider supporting us by upgrading to an SPS Account. Besides the warm and fuzzy feeling that comes from supporting a good cause, you'll also get a significant number of ever-expanding perks and benefits on the site and the forums. Click here to find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
You are currently viewing Boards o' Magick as a guest, but you can register an account here. Registration is fast, easy and free. Once registered you will have access to search the forums, create and respond to threads, PM other members, upload screenshots and access many other features unavailable to guests.

BoM cultivates a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. We have been aiming for quality over quantity with our forums from their inception, and believe that this distinction is truly tangible and valued by our members. We'd love to have you join us today!

(If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. If you've forgotten your username or password, click here.)

Windows 7 is officially here!!! :-D

Discussion in 'Techno-Magic' started by Kitrax, Oct 22, 2009.

  1. Eldular Gems: 10/31
    Latest gem: Zircon


    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's actually why I asked him if he had 64bit, because I've seen some techless people buying 8 gigs with a 32 Vista. I still have 4gig since I had Vista 32b and now upgraded to 7 64b, need to get more RAM now.
     
  2. Ragusa

    Ragusa Eternal Halfling Paladin Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2000
    Messages:
    10,140
    Media:
    63
    Likes Received:
    250
    Gender:
    Male
    See, I think well of Ziad ... :p
     
  3. Ziad

    Ziad I speak in rebuses Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,088
    Media:
    57
    Likes Received:
    47
    I don't have 8Gb! Nor would I want to, even if I they were running on a 64-bit OS. When the OS comes that requires me to have 8Gb to run things properly I'll just give it the finger and stick to my beloved XP. Or Win7 if I end up making that upgrade :p
     
  4. Ragusa

    Ragusa Eternal Halfling Paladin Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2000
    Messages:
    10,140
    Media:
    63
    Likes Received:
    250
    Gender:
    Male
    Taza I meant :D

    Eldular, let me tell you you're working too hard because I do see where Taza said 64 ...
     
  5. Eldular Gems: 10/31
    Latest gem: Zircon


    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    I saw the part where he wrote that he had 64bit after you posted "Obviously, as do i" that's why I posted that I didn't see it before and that's why I had asked the stupid question. I wasn't giving Taza bad credit, just wanted to help him out!

    Stop picking on me :wail: lol.
     
  6. Chandos the Red

    Chandos the Red This Wheel's on Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    8,252
    Media:
    82
    Likes Received:
    238
    Gender:
    Male
    No accounting for taste. :p
     
  7. Taza

    Taza Weird Modmaker Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,447
    Likes Received:
    25
    Oh you.

    Could we get this train back on track?

    Thus far, I'm liking Windows 7 even if I can't find a way to not cache thumbnails and turn just video/audio preview off. Two most annoying things really, but not really bugs.
     
  8. Kitrax

    Kitrax Pantaloons are supposed to go where!?!?

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    7,899
    Media:
    74
    Likes Received:
    96
    Gender:
    Male
    Don't mind if we do.

    Ziad, try making a massive panorama image (currently sitting at ~1GB) in Photoshop. I've only got 2GB of ram in my PC, and Photoshop (and everything else on my PC) slows to a crawl if I try to open that file. I've had to use the computers at school to make it...which in one lab, there are 2 computers currently running Win7 RC1 with 6GB of RAM and Adobe CS4. Those computers kick serious arse! Win7, CS4, and Core i7 are a 3-way made in heaven! :love: I just wish I could afford CS4...or 6GB of RAM...or a full version of Win7 for that matter. :rolleyes:

    Anyway, the point of all that is, Win7 doesn't *need* 8GB...but as file sizes increase - which they will always continue to do - you're going to need more RAM no matter what.
     
  9. Ragusa

    Ragusa Eternal Halfling Paladin Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2000
    Messages:
    10,140
    Media:
    63
    Likes Received:
    250
    Gender:
    Male
    And that's why I upgraded my RAM now, fearing I couldn't do it later at reasonable expense. It's an investment into the future as I plan to use my computer for another three years or so. Great that Windows 7 64bit allows for that much RAM.

    I saw my computer coming to its limits, using the 4GB I had then to some 95%, when doing the exact opposite of what Kit did - searching and replacing in some 20.000 smallish XML files amounting cumulatively to 700MB. That's hard computing. Unlike him, I had the old computer at work and brought my work home in order to spare me a couple hours staring at progress bars moving at snail's pace.
     
  10. Lynx Lupo Gems: 6/31
    Latest gem: Jasper


    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Any system with 6G of ram should be blazingly fast, otherwise it has a piss-poor design. Just think of recent game system requirements, where the ones for vista are often double the ones for xp. The software and hardware industries are passing the ball between each other and trying to trick you to follow. Things just get cheaper (thank you gamers :)).

    And if your ram isn't being used, then that part is useless. Memory caches are still faster than even ssds and while they need to be filled first, they are more reliable (ssds are young, just look at the intel fiasco).

    Most files will not increase in size (docs, pics, music), so it's not such a good argument. And what will you do with your 1G panorama, shrink it so you can host it somewhere (absurd)? I'm not saying there is no use for more ram, but most systems/uses cope perfectly well with less than 4G, since the disk is the bottleneck.
     
  11. Ragusa

    Ragusa Eternal Halfling Paladin Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2000
    Messages:
    10,140
    Media:
    63
    Likes Received:
    250
    Gender:
    Male
    Admittedly, I don't currently see a speed increase from having 8GB RAM in everyday use. My computer shuts down faster though :shake:
     
  12. Kitrax

    Kitrax Pantaloons are supposed to go where!?!?

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    7,899
    Media:
    74
    Likes Received:
    96
    Gender:
    Male
    Pictures *will* increase in size as cameras keep increasing resolutions. Hell, a single RAW file is ~25MB with no filters.

    Music files will increase in size too as more and more files have embedded metadata like album art, artist bios, and the like. Also, bit-rates will move to a higher number as Mp3 players and computers get more HDD space. I've been using 192kbps for all my ripped music that I put on my phone...but all my original files are FLAC files...which are huge. I’d love to have all my FLAC files on my Mp3 player! :bigeyes:

    The massive panorama I'm making will be printed on a 60" by ∞ photo plotter (aka a large-format printer) to span the entire length of 3 walls in my friend's media room. The file will never be shrunk...or turned into anything except a lossless TIF file, and its home will be a flash drive.

    Also, more RAM is essential for highly calculation-intensive tasks such as 3D modeling, HD video editing, image manipulation, CAD designs, electrical circuit design simulation*, and dozens of other tasks because this stuff is stored in RAM while the work is being done.

    * - I have to use MultiSim a lot in my electronics engineering classes at school. I designed a very large circuit to show an example of what a single PIC could do. When I pressed "play" to activate the simulation, my computer's RAM monitor went to 0 and my CPU usage shot up to 100% on both cores. The simulation worked like a charm on one of the two school PCs I mentioned earlier.
     
  13. Lynx Lupo Gems: 6/31
    Latest gem: Jasper


    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    The file size increase due to metadata is insignificant compared to the size of the data. Sure it will increase, but this affects more the disk space or program design than ram needs.

    CAD, virtualisation, GIS, (etc.) and pics for tens of square meters are a specialist thing, most people don't do them. But again some of these are so power hungry due to lazy design. If high ram capacities hadn't become so cheap so fast, the pc software world would be more similar to the embedded one and programmers would be more careful in treating our resources.
     
  14. Taza

    Taza Weird Modmaker Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,447
    Likes Received:
    25
    I find myself using 100% CPU and most of the RAM even without gaming thanks to *heavy* multitasking.

    I always find ways to use up all of the available memory and make myself wish I had more. Heck, my 701 netbook has been upgraded to 2 gigabytes. And yes, it was worth it.
     
  15. Munchkin Blender Gems: 22/31
    Latest gem: Sphene


    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Bottom line is as technology advances you will always need more. Who remembers Windows 3.1 and using 1MB of RAM? I do; in fact my first PC was...

    25Mhz not GHz people..
    512KB of RAM 2 256KB sticks....
    30MB HD - Most new games today use are 1-2 GB minimum if not more
    15" CRT 32 color monitor - yup 32 colors thats it...
    GPU - didn't have one
    Sound - If you heard it great, if not who cares

    That PC did exactly what I needed it to do back in 1994 and more. Advance 15 years and now my current PC does exactly what I need it to do and more. Imagine trying to run Windows 7 on my old PC; wouldn't happen. The thing with technology is as it advances (software and hardware) you need more computing power (hardware) to operate the applications you want on your PC (software). If you don't update the hardware, the software will really slow down your PC.

    As for Windows 7 compared to Vista - Vista had to happen for Window 7 to be created. I'm happy with Vista and will eventually move to Window 7 with my next PC or whatever the OS is at that time.
     
  16. Blades of Vanatar

    Blades of Vanatar Vanatar will rise again Adored Veteran Pillars of Eternity SP Immortalizer (for helping immortalize Sorcerer's Place in the game!)

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,146
    Likes Received:
    224
    Gender:
    Male
    My 1st PC was the IBM PC Jr. 128K system. Infocom games galore! :)
     
  17. Ragusa

    Ragusa Eternal Halfling Paladin Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2000
    Messages:
    10,140
    Media:
    63
    Likes Received:
    250
    Gender:
    Male
    "My" first computer was my big brother's 286, iirc on Windows 2.something. 3.1 was a major leap forward.

    It always depends on what you do with your computer. Years back my sis bought a Celeron 700 or so, and that box is still running Win98 SE on a 2GB HDD with 320MB or so RAM. I had then just bought and built my first all-new computer a Slot A AMD Athlon 650MHz to replace the one I built from leftovers of friend's computers who had upgraded. I am two core upgrades (first an Athlon 3000+ and now the Intel 9450) ahead. My sister has now bought an EeePC and is happy with it, praising it's computing power :) I guess it greatly depends on your perspective.

    Point is, she's hearing some mp3, watching the occasional DVD, writing, doing e-mail and surfing the web.

    I game, and use the computer for light programming, and all of the above, and some more things, all in heavy multitasking, even more so now that I have two screens. And I know what a good computer feels like in terms of speed and responsiveness.
     
  18. dmc

    dmc Speak softly and carry a big briefcase Staff Member Distinguished Member ★ SPS Account Holder Resourceful Adored Veteran New Server Contributor [2012] (for helping Sorcerer's Place lease a new, more powerful server!)

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    8,731
    Media:
    88
    Likes Received:
    379
    Gender:
    Male
    As long as we're breaking out the grey hair, my first computer was an Apple ][+. 48K and I was able to score a 5 1/4 inch floppy drive, so I didn't need to mess with cassettes. Color monitor was a pipe dream. It ran Basic and, if you were a double dork, you knew how to program it in 6502 "machine" language.

    I'm taking the fifth on my knowledge in that regard (although if you know what JSR means, we can talk . . . )

    Now, my machine is on the older side, but I'm happy with it and the XP that runs on it so trouble-free. I can see myself upgrading in a year or two, but I have no need right now.
     
  19. Blades of Vanatar

    Blades of Vanatar Vanatar will rise again Adored Veteran Pillars of Eternity SP Immortalizer (for helping immortalize Sorcerer's Place in the game!)

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,146
    Likes Received:
    224
    Gender:
    Male
    Basic? I remember utilizing basic when I was 8 years old on a TI-80. But I won't consider that one my 1st PC, as it couldn't run games. Though I could get the screen to run my name infinitely!
     
  20. Chandos the Red

    Chandos the Red This Wheel's on Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    8,252
    Media:
    82
    Likes Received:
    238
    Gender:
    Male
Sorcerer's Place is a project run entirely by fans and for fans. Maintaining Sorcerer's Place and a stable environment for all our hosted sites requires a substantial amount of our time and funds on a regular basis, so please consider supporting us to keep the site up & running smoothly. Thank you!

Sorcerers.net is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to products on amazon.com, amazon.ca and amazon.co.uk. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.