1. SPS Accounts:
    Do you find yourself coming back time after time? Do you appreciate the ongoing hard work to keep this community focused and successful in its mission? Please consider supporting us by upgrading to an SPS Account. Besides the warm and fuzzy feeling that comes from supporting a good cause, you'll also get a significant number of ever-expanding perks and benefits on the site and the forums. Click here to find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
You are currently viewing Boards o' Magick as a guest, but you can register an account here. Registration is fast, easy and free. Once registered you will have access to search the forums, create and respond to threads, PM other members, upload screenshots and access many other features unavailable to guests.

BoM cultivates a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. We have been aiming for quality over quantity with our forums from their inception, and believe that this distinction is truly tangible and valued by our members. We'd love to have you join us today!

(If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. If you've forgotten your username or password, click here.)

You can't control more than 5 monsters

Discussion in 'BG2: Throne of Bhaal (Classic)' started by Silverstar, Jul 14, 2012.

  1. Silverstar Gems: 31/31
    Latest gem: Rogue Stone


    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,050
    Likes Received:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    [​IMG] It was all going fine and dandy in my Mega mod-BGT game, just accepted Aster's quest to eliminate Aran Linvail (alternates mod) and did it after a very difficult battle. I tried summoning a fire elemental by Jaheira, but it botched in the combat, saying I can not control more than 5 monsters at any time. I had only one ghast raised by Viconia at that time.

    I prevailed the battle and now I can not summon creatures. At most I can summon one and then the game thinks the limit has been reached. No amount of rest helps.

    I did some googleing and saw a few people experiencing this problem. They say when you leave some areas your summons are left behind, and they don't dissapear until you revisit the area. Well I revisited old areas I've been, and a Pit Fiend (gated in by Viccy), an Aerial Servant and 2 fire elementals got unsummoned as soon as I entered the old areas. They were waiting there, allright. But still, I can not summon the game still thinks the limit has been reached.

    For a quick fix I installed D0tweak's remove summon limit cap component. It still does not work, I think the component requires a new game to work.

    I went back every area, installed that component but still the game does not allow me to summon. I have many difficulty increasing mods so summons are vital for me, and I can not play the game like this :( any ideas are welcome, if you know how to use Shadowkeeper to set my summoned monsters to zero, or something like that. I fiddled around SK but could not see how I can work it out. So help please! TIA
     
  2. dmc

    dmc Speak softly and carry a big briefcase Staff Member Distinguished Member ★ SPS Account Holder Resourceful Adored Veteran New Server Contributor [2012] (for helping Sorcerer's Place lease a new, more powerful server!)

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    8,596
    Media:
    88
    Likes Received:
    374
    Gender:
    Male
    Maybe an obvious idea, but start a new game with a mage. Save it. Then, summon something. Save again.

    Compare the two saves in SK, as the only difference at all should be that one summons.
     
  3. Silverstar Gems: 31/31
    Latest gem: Rogue Stone


    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,050
    Likes Received:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Went back to an older save, before the last battle I had, just before that bandit encounter of Jaheira when you sleep in the wilderness. There was no summon bug then.

    Weird thing is, I haven't summoned anything in that battle. (have spent it running away gulping healing potions since at the start of combat the player suffers heavy damage) Anyway, seems like a random bug. I am glad I have many seperate saves frequently.

    Your idea is smart, but I fear there is no global variables for summons. There may be some affects or other strange encyrpted hex codes but I have no idea whatsoever.

    EDIT: Damnation, the bug strikes again! And this time I can't summon anything at all! This is very annoying. Please, if anyone knows how the game stores summoned creature data and how I can edit it via SK or other program, I would be grateful.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2012
  4. torfinn Gems: 1/31
    Latest gem: Turquoise


    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    I have the same problem in Underdark yet I seem to manage to solve it. The problem starts when you leave an area (for example Area A) to Area B, leaving behind you any summoned creature (for example a skeleton). Everything works fine in Area B but if you´ll arive in the Area A again, the game will write "Skeleton Unsummoned", but it still counts your skeleton as summoned and you can now summon only four another monsters. To solve it you can 1) kill all your summoned monsters or wait/sleep till your monsters will unsummon before youĺl leave the area. Or 2) after you´ll return to the Area A with your skeleton, cast freedom and everything should be OK, but you have to do it before youĺl leave the Area A again. If you´ll try it when you´ll be there for the third time, it won´t work.
     
  5. Silverstar Gems: 31/31
    Latest gem: Rogue Stone


    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,050
    Likes Received:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah this is such an excruciating bug, I had to abandon my game. Next time I got that -no summon limit- tweak installed, and did not care about summons at all, not checking if I leave them behind or not. I still try to obey the 5-at a time limit, though I may be a little lax in some battles. (cough..ascension..cough) It still does not allow you to have multiple celestials up and running, though, so does not feel too much cheesy.
     
Sorcerer's Place is a project run entirely by fans and for fans. Maintaining Sorcerer's Place and a stable environment for all our hosted sites requires a substantial amount of our time and funds on a regular basis, so please consider supporting us to keep the site up & running smoothly. Thank you!

Sorcerers.net is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to products on amazon.com, amazon.ca and amazon.co.uk. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.