1. SPS Accounts:
    Do you find yourself coming back time after time? Do you appreciate the ongoing hard work to keep this community focused and successful in its mission? Please consider supporting us by upgrading to an SPS Account. Besides the warm and fuzzy feeling that comes from supporting a good cause, you'll also get a significant number of ever-expanding perks and benefits on the site and the forums. Click here to find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
You are currently viewing Boards o' Magick as a guest, but you can register an account here. Registration is fast, easy and free. Once registered you will have access to search the forums, create and respond to threads, PM other members, upload screenshots and access many other features unavailable to guests.

BoM cultivates a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. We have been aiming for quality over quantity with our forums from their inception, and believe that this distinction is truly tangible and valued by our members. We'd love to have you join us today!

(If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. If you've forgotten your username or password, click here.)

viper 770 and bg2

Discussion in 'BG2: Shadows of Amn (Classic)' started by cantor, Jan 1, 2001.

  1. cantor Gems: 1/31
    Latest gem: Turquoise


    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    anyone have any experience using the viper 770 video card (non-ultra, tnt2 chipset) with baldur's gate 2? I recently upgraded my cpu and motherboard to a 750 mhz thunderbird, but scrolling in bg2 is still a bit choppy for me.

    is the tnt2 too wimpy for bg2?

    tia...
     
  2. Mobeus Gems: 5/31
    Latest gem: Andar


    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2000
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    The V770 should be OK if it has at least 32 MB memory. I don't know for sure about problems since I haven't used that card. But I did have the V550 TNT card and it worked OK. It was a little choppy but I think it was due more to only having 16 MB memory.

    Some obvious suggestions: (which I am sure you have already checked, but just in case...)

    1. Check the readme.txt file in your bgII directory; it has known issues for most cards. Also check the Interplay web site.

    2. If you upgraded after your original installation, you should run the configuration program to check and reset any game settings to match your new cpu and vid card. One setting to check is the cache size: increasing it can help almost everything.

    3. If the configuration program shows everything is set properly, you could always try to reinstall, perhaps with a full install if you have the disk space.

    4. Of course, you should make sure you have the latest drivers for your card.

    Sorry I can't be of more help.

    Good Luck! :)
    :D
     
  3. cantor Gems: 1/31
    Latest gem: Turquoise


    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the response and the suggestions. ill definitely pump up my cache size a bunch, since i have disk to burn.

    i do indeed have fresh, full installs of both windows and baldurs gate.

    my 770 does have only 16mb ram, so maybe that's the source of the choppiness im getting.

    anyone else out there use a 550 or 770 with 16mb video ram?

    in case i decide to just get a new video card, any recommendations for a not-so-expensive one that works well with bg2 and win ME?
     
  4. Blackthorne TA

    Blackthorne TA Master in his Own Mind Staff Member ★ SPS Account Holder Adored Veteran Pillars of Eternity SP Immortalizer (for helping immortalize Sorcerer's Place in the game!) New Server Contributor [2012] (for helping Sorcerer's Place lease a new, more powerful server!) Torment: Tides of Numenera SP Immortalizer (for helping immortalize Sorcerer's Place in the game!)

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2000
    Messages:
    10,362
    Media:
    40
    Likes Received:
    226
    Gender:
    Male
    I've got the Viper V770, but I believe I've got 32 MB, and I have no problems whatsoever...
     
  5. Orgrim Doomhammer Gems: 4/31
    Latest gem: Sunstone


    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have the 3D effects turned on, then it does look a bit jerky. But i changed my graphics card to a Creative 64 Meg Ultra 2 with DDR Memory which solved the problem.
     
Sorcerer's Place is a project run entirely by fans and for fans. Maintaining Sorcerer's Place and a stable environment for all our hosted sites requires a substantial amount of our time and funds on a regular basis, so please consider supporting us to keep the site up & running smoothly. Thank you!

Sorcerers.net is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to products on amazon.com, amazon.ca and amazon.co.uk. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.