1. SPS Accounts:
    Do you find yourself coming back time after time? Do you appreciate the ongoing hard work to keep this community focused and successful in its mission? Please consider supporting us by upgrading to an SPS Account. Besides the warm and fuzzy feeling that comes from supporting a good cause, you'll also get a significant number of ever-expanding perks and benefits on the site and the forums. Click here to find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
You are currently viewing Boards o' Magick as a guest, but you can register an account here. Registration is fast, easy and free. Once registered you will have access to search the forums, create and respond to threads, PM other members, upload screenshots and access many other features unavailable to guests.

BoM cultivates a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. We have been aiming for quality over quantity with our forums from their inception, and believe that this distinction is truly tangible and valued by our members. We'd love to have you join us today!

(If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. If you've forgotten your username or password, click here.)

Help with order of mods?

Discussion in 'BG2: Throne of Bhaal (Classic)' started by Myrkul, Jan 22, 2012.

  1. Myrkul Gems: 2/31
    Latest gem: Fire Agate


    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi guys/girls. I recently re-installed BG2 and I wanted to use some mods that I hadn't tried before like Unfinished Business and Wheels of Prophecy. But once I installed them all some of the game dialogue got messed up. For example Irenicus's intro in SOA. He doesn't make any sounds and the letters on top of his head just say something about the Underdark. So that's not supposed to happen. Anyway I have a list of the mods I have/want to play. If anyone could give me an idea of what order to install them in I'd be very grateful.

    G3 Fixpack
    G3 Tweaks
    G3 Spell Rev
    G3 Oversight
    Valen
    Soulafein
    Wheels of Prophecy
    Unfinished Business
    Tactics
    Sword Coast Strategems II
    Ascension
    Item Upgrade
    Ease of Use
    Widescreen
     
  2. Proteus_za

    Proteus_za

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    12
    Generally, as far as I know, its:

    Official Patch
    Widescreen mod
    Ascension
    Fixpack
    Everything else
    SCS II
    Tweakpack

    Why do you install Ease of Use and Tweakpack?

    Also SCS II is not compatible with all of the Tactics modules.
     
  3. Myrkul Gems: 2/31
    Latest gem: Fire Agate


    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Well I install Ease of Use and the Tweakpack because they have slightly different features so I installed the features i liked from both of them. But I guess mixing up similar mods like this could mess the game up. I didn't know that SCSII didn't mix with Tacits though. That's really a shame. They both add interesting stuff to the game. I guess I'll stick with SCSII then. I'll reinstall the game just in case and install the mods in the order you said.

    I'm not too sure about Item Upgrade though. I really like that mod. But it's caused issues before with the dialogue. So I'll just install it in the "everything else" section like you said, and pray that it works fine.
     
  4. Topken

    Topken Elven-dragon wizard

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    I normaly install widescreen mod last and I have had no issue doing that.
     
  5. Proteus_za

    Proteus_za

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    12
    Read the SCS II readme on what parts of Tactics it is compatible with. There are some tactics modules that can be used just fine.

    In fact, here is that part of the readme:

     
  6. Myrkul Gems: 2/31
    Latest gem: Fire Agate


    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Awesome! Thank you very much. I was actually about to ask if anyone knew how I could get Tactics to work with SCS II. I mostly wanted The Ritual, Acid Kensai, and Red Badge parts of it. It's great to know I can install them with SCS II.

    I'm having another issue with Shadowkeeper though. Any help would be appreciated. Basically when I edit a game it says that it's saved, but when I actually start up BG2 there is no edited saved game there. Just the normal ones. It's odd because shadowkeeper is using the correct save path. It's just not showing up in the game itself.
     
  7. Proteus_za

    Proteus_za

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    12
    Are you sure you arent confusing the save and mpsave directories?
     
  8. Myrkul Gems: 2/31
    Latest gem: Fire Agate


    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah it's not that. I just checked and it's using the save directory. The strange thing is that it says the edited game is saved and i can even re-edit it if I want. But when I start up BG2 there is no edited game there at all. So it's just odd that it won't show up in the game itself. Do you think it might have something to do with the game being installed in the program files section? I know that can cause some issues sometimes.
     
  9. Proteus_za

    Proteus_za

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    12
    Not if you are able to save it. Windows would normally make it difficult to write to the program files directory, not read from it.

    My advice - move all of your saved games from the save folder to somewhere else. The point is to make absolutely sure that Baldurs Gate 2 is looking where you think its looking. If you move all of your saved games, and it still picks up saved games within the game itself, then you have the wrong folder somehow. If suddenly there are no games to load, then you have the right folder but BG2 is really not able to read the edited saves for some reason.

    Another thing to have a look at is the baldur.ini file. I think it contains the paths where all your saved games are stored. Make sure it matches where you expect them to be.
     
  10. 8people

    8people 8 is just another way of looking at infinite ★ SPS Account Holder Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    7,133
    Media:
    74
    Likes Received:
    128
    Gender:
    Female
    [​IMG] If you're using Vista or Windows 7 then the game is probably loading from the save game in the compatability folder. You'll need to copy the saves and move them to the compatability folder of the same name.
     
  11. Myrkul Gems: 2/31
    Latest gem: Fire Agate


    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Okay I tried to reinstall it in it's own "Baldurs Gate II" folder that isn't in the Program Files directory and something went wrong big time. Now I can't uninstall the game... and I really don't know what to do. I tried to reset my comp to a previous date but that didn't fix it. So now that I can't uninstall it I think I'm screwed.
     
  12. 8people

    8people 8 is just another way of looking at infinite ★ SPS Account Holder Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    7,133
    Media:
    74
    Likes Received:
    128
    Gender:
    Female
    [​IMG] Have a looky here.

    You will also have to manually remove the original directory of both games if you want to free up memory space. Or you can back up the saves and any other little files you've had a dink around with - they won't necessarily work in a new install without tweaking and bit of profanity though ;)

    Also in case you have the 4-in-1 version
     
  13. Myrkul Gems: 2/31
    Latest gem: Fire Agate


    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Alright I managed to uninstall it by using that method. But now when I try to reinstall it gives me this message at around 60%

    Component: CD3 Recommended
    File Group: CD3 Recommended
    File: D:bad:CD3\Data\CD3CreAn.bif
    Error: Data error (cyclic redundancy check)

    I'm not too sure what that's about.
     
  14. 8people

    8people 8 is just another way of looking at infinite ★ SPS Account Holder Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    7,133
    Media:
    74
    Likes Received:
    128
    Gender:
    Female
    [​IMG] Have a look here. Hopefully that helps, is an unfortunate side effect of a much loved game.
     
  15. Myrkul Gems: 2/31
    Latest gem: Fire Agate


    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Thank you so much! I have everything working correctly. Well at least so far... Now I'm just trying to pick between SCSII or Improved Anvil. It's really a shame that the two mods can't work together since they both add so much to the game.
     
  16. Proteus_za

    Proteus_za

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    12
    Thats a very personal choice unfortunately - not something we can really help you with!

    Both mods have very different aims. IA is more of a total conversion though, whereas SCS II is mostly a tactical mod.
     
  17. Shaitan

    Shaitan Always forgive your enemies; it annoys them so

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    5
    SCS is highly compatible with other mods Improved Anvil isn't.
     
  18. Proteus_za

    Proteus_za

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yeah, thats something else worth pointing out. You arent choosing between SCSII and IA, you are choosing between IA and everything else. I dont think you can have any other mods installed with IA, or at least extremely few.
     
  19. Myrkul Gems: 2/31
    Latest gem: Fire Agate


    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah I read the readme for IA and it's compatible with very few things. I mostly wanted to test it out for the new items and such. But if I wanted to install it I would have to remove almost all of my other mods so it's not worth it.
     
  20. Myrkul Gems: 2/31
    Latest gem: Fire Agate


    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Sorry for double posting. But I was recently trying to install item revisions, and I get a message that the .exe file for it can't be found. Which is odd since I've never installed it before so I don't have the .exe file. Is it something I'm doing or could it be that something is wrong with the download itself?
     
Sorcerer's Place is an independent project run entirely by fans and for fans. Maintaining Sorcerer's Place and a stable environment for all our hosted sites requires a substantial amount of time and money on a regular basis, so please consider supporting us to keep the site up & running smoothly. Thank you!