1. SPS Accounts:
    Do you find yourself coming back time after time? Do you appreciate the ongoing hard work to keep this community focused and successful in its mission? Please consider supporting us by upgrading to an SPS Account. Besides the warm and fuzzy feeling that comes from supporting a good cause, you'll also get a significant number of ever-expanding perks and benefits on the site and the forums. Click here to find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
You are currently viewing Boards o' Magick as a guest, but you can register an account here. Registration is fast, easy and free. Once registered you will have access to search the forums, create and respond to threads, PM other members, upload screenshots and access many other features unavailable to guests.

BoM cultivates a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. We have been aiming for quality over quantity with our forums from their inception, and believe that this distinction is truly tangible and valued by our members. We'd love to have you join us today!

(If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. If you've forgotten your username or password, click here.)

*FIX* Icewind Dale OpenGL 3D Acceleration *FIX*

Discussion in 'Icewind Dale (Classic)' started by YellowAries, Mar 9, 2012.

?

Did The Fix Work For You?

Poll closed Mar 31, 2012.
  1. Yes

    100.0%
  2. No

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. YellowAries Gems: 1/31
    Latest gem: Turquoise


    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello, I have decided to sign up for this forum to become a part of the community here since I have something to contribute to it.. I haven't played Icewind Dale yet and I noticed my computer was having problems running it with OpenGL 3D Acceleration enabled (My game would flicker black and do weird things) and I tried to find a fix, and guess what? There isn't one! (atleast not that I am aware of..) So, I made one.. Below is a .zip file containing a .dll file and a .txt file with instructions on how to apply this fix. To my knowledge it works, I tested it with the settings specified in the .txt file so go ahead and see if it works for you too, it should anyway..

    * CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD THE FIX *

    Happy Gaming!!
     
    Taluntain likes this.
  2. Taluntain

    Taluntain Resident Alpha and Omega Staff Member ★ SPS Account Holder Resourceful Adored Veteran Pillars of Eternity SP Immortalizer (for helping immortalize Sorcerer's Place in the game!) New Server Contributor [2012] (for helping Sorcerer's Place lease a new, more powerful server!) Torment: Tides of Numenera SP Immortalizer (for helping immortalize Sorcerer's Place in the game!) BoM XenForo Migration Contributor [2015] (for helping support the migration to new forum software!)

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    23,644
    Media:
    494
    Likes Received:
    563
    Gender:
    Male
    Nice, I hope it helps anyone with this problem. What exactly did you do to fix it?
     
  3. Dr_Asik Gems: 6/31
    Latest gem: Jasper


    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    10
    Do you really expect anyone to use a random dll with an executable they have to run as admin without questions? I mean technically this could reformat your hard drive. Where does the dll come from, what does it do, where's the code?
     
    starfox64 likes this.
  4. starfox64 Gems: 12/31
    Latest gem: Moonstone


    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    There is no executable. You just copy the dynamic link library to your Icewind Dale directory. I did it; nothing broke. I'm really not sure what it was supposed to do but Icewind Dale loaded and I played a bit. I didn't notice any difference but I'm not really sure what I was supposed to be looking for either.
     
  5. Dr_Asik Gems: 6/31
    Latest gem: Jasper


    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    10
    A dll is executable code, it just doesn't execute by itself, it needs something else to call into it, in this case IWD.exe. If you run IWD.exe as admin then that dll also executes as admin and can do anything. Just wanted to make sure people were aware of the security risks of executing random code.

    Anyway I did my little research and it's binary identical to the publicly available OpenGL.dll that can be found on sites like this. So, there shouldn't be any issues, this is just an old unsupported version of OpenGL that might indeed fix problems with old games.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2012
  6. YellowAries Gems: 1/31
    Latest gem: Turquoise


    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Some Clarification

    [​IMG] Thanks Taluntain, well to my knowledge from other games that have OpenGL issues by placing the OpenGL.dll into the Windows/System32 folder it would use that .dll by default when the game loaded to process any functions OpenGL will usually use.. but you can also put the .dll into the game folder directly and this seemed to be easier and more reliable in any case, since others will also be using this (hopefully).

    The .dll is a fix for people who have issues running Icewind Dale with 3D OpenGL Acceleration, where the game would flicker black off and on and simply make the game unplayable to a certain degree. By placing the .dll into the game folder it in theory SHOULD stop this from happening by calling the .dll.

    The .dll isn't any malign code, it's basically just a dll for OpenGL. Actually, I don't specifically recall WHY but some people even have it in their Windows/System32 folder for opengl to function properly.
    EDIT: I just checked my system32 folder (Windows XP) and indeed "opengl32.dll" is in there.. 32 for 32 bit.. but perhaps in windows 95/98 just "opengl.dll" would exist there.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2012
  7. LeetMiniWheat Gems: 1/31
    Latest gem: Turquoise


    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for the thread necro, but I fixed this issue by disabling triple buffering in nvidia control panel and it works fine without the .dll. So maybe this can help someone else with the same issue. I was still getting flickering and weird mouse trails until I disabled triple buffering.

    Now if only I could get EAX/ALchemy to work...

    P.S. I noticed nvidia has it's own IWD profile with CONFORMANT_TEXTURE_CLAMP enabled (presumably to fix rendering bugs), but they should also have triple buffering forcibly disabled regardless of global settings.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2012
Sorcerer's Place is a project run entirely by fans and for fans. Maintaining Sorcerer's Place and a stable environment for all our hosted sites requires a substantial amount of our time and funds on a regular basis, so please consider supporting us to keep the site up & running smoothly. Thank you!

Sorcerers.net is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to products on amazon.com, amazon.ca and amazon.co.uk. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.